Trivia: The Biggest & Smallest Municipality in South Cotabato

The Province of South Cotabato is subdivided into 10 municipalities and 1 component city.

The biggest municipality is T'boli with a land area of 89, 583 hectares roughly three (3) times bigger than the City of Koronadal, our provincial capital which has a total land area of 27, 700 hectares.

The smallest municipality is Sto.Niño with a land area of only 8,620 hectares. It would take more than three (3) Sto.Niño to fill the size of the City of Koronadal.

How big is our province?

Since a big portion of the land area of our province was reduced when Sarangani separated to become a new province in 1992, the Province of South Cotabato is only 393, 595 hectares.

The table below ranks each municipality of South Cotabato by area based on data from the National Statistical Coordination Board (NSCB).

RankMunicipalityArea (in hectares)
1T'boli89, 583
2Lake Sebu70, 200
3Surallah54, 030
4Tampakan39, 000
5Polomolok33, 997
6City of Koronadal27, 700
7Banga24, 035
8Tupi22, 800
9Norala12, 320
10Tantangan11, 310
11Sto. Niño8, 620
Previous Post Next Post