South Cotabato tankers shine in Sarbay Fest 2014 Swim Across the Bay

A team of swimmers from South Cotabato won big in the 9th Swim Across the Bay Competition, a 15-kilometer swim relay race held yesterday May 16, 2014 from Kamanga, Maasim to Tango, Glan in Sarangani Province.

First-timers in the said competition, Aqua Valley Gliders from the City of Koronadal clocked in at 3:53:57 to grabbed the 2nd place in one of the most awaited events of Sarangani Bay Festival. The team composed of Keith Tuya, Earl John Tablizo, Kevin Dagum, Ferdinand Jade Depita and Arvin Clyne Pormilos brought home the P35,000 cash prize.

Meanwhile, Dadiangas Torpedoes composed of UP Diliman students from General Santos City successfully defended their title for the third straight year and bagged the P50,000 cash prize with a time of 3:36:46. A team from Kidapawan City placed third with 4:00:46, they took home P25,000.

Other winners are the Tinoto Marines (4th place, 4:03:29); MPC Dolphins (5th place, 4:07:04); Sultan Team (6th place, 4:07:15); Red Lakers “Lake Sebu” (7th place, 4;07:29); the Polomolok Swim - Boys (8th place, 4:09:20); the Lady Pipay (9th place, 4:10:10); and, the Polomolok Swim - Girls (10th place).

Sarangani's Swim Across the Bay Competition is said to be the the longest swimming competition in Mindanao.

Previous Post Next Post