South Cotabato towns placed under state of calamity due to El Niño

South Cotabato towns placed under state of calamaity due to El Niño

Four (4) local government units in the Province of South Cotabato have already declared a state of calamity because of El Niño weather phenomenon.

These are the City of Koronadal, the municipalities of Surallah, Tantangan and Tboli.

The Sangguniang Panlungsod of the City of Koronadal passed the resolution declaring the city under state of calamity last Friday, March 11, 2016 followed by the towns of Tboli, Surallah and Tantangan on Thursday, March 17.

The damages in agricultural crops in the said towns according to reports have already reached millions of pesos and thousands of farmers and their families have been affected.

In a report, the  provincial government of South Cotabato is now studying the possibilities of placing the entire province under state of calamity to be able to use its calamity fund to address the effect of dry spell.

Post a Comment

Comments Here

أحدث أقدم